so which will it be?

I soak it up now
lizard sprawled in the heat
the warmth a reminder of
how cold my bones
like shivering drums
they were, they are, they beat
loud they become when I forget
but not for long.

I fall to the rock like
gravity
without it I shake
I shiver and beat
the warmth I remember, the work and the heat
but cold asks for nothing and
doesn’t mind me. 

One thought on “so which will it be?

  1. Love the tone of this piece. You bring the reader up into your head. I really liked:

    “like shivering drums
    they were, they are, they beat
    loud they become when I forget
    but not for long.”

    Like

don't be shy

